Skip to content
November 19, 2010 / matthas

Say Something!

Designers often find ourselves coming up with some pretty cool stuff. At least … we tend to think so, right? But at the end of the day, how much of what we create actually serves a purpose? Enter Jason Stevens at Design is My Thing. Jason has come up with a fantastic outlet for designers to make something that does more than just look cool.

The Say Something Poster Project is a poster design competition and gallery show created to give designers the opportunity to use poster design to say something that will inspire, motivate and educate teenage kids.

The competition benefits “The Home for Little Wanderers“. Below is a pair of posters I entered. Visit the gallery for the brief description and throw a couple votes my way.

Special thanks to AK for some helpful feedback during the refinement of these posters.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Joseph Alessio / Nov 22 2010 9:20 pm

    Hi Matt,

    I just wanted to let you know that I appreciate the posters that you entered. They’re well illustrated/designed (it’s hard to tell where illustration stops and design begins!) and the message is powerful. The best part, though, is the Scripture reference. Good job putting that out there! I voted them both 5 stars, and I’m glad to see that they’re doing quite well (the norm seems to be about 3 stars, and mine seems to be stuck there!). It’s encouraging to meet other Christians that are interested in design.

    I entered a poster design also (the “hard work” quote by Emile Zola, with the hand-lettering, a couple posters earlier than your pair). I’d like to hear your comments on it.

  2. matthas / Nov 23 2010 9:06 am

    Joseph – thanks for the kind words, much appreciated! First let me say that your Zola poster grabbed me the very first time I saw it. Love love love the positive/negative contrast, the iconic portrait is fantastic, and I’m always a huge fan of hand lettering. 5 stars, for sure.

    Really glad you liked my posters. I initially set out to do a single anti-bullying poster and it just naturally turned into a pair of “good/evil” posters. That Proverbs verse was just such a perfect fit for the dual approach too. It’s ominous and encouraging at the same time. Very dramatic. Can’t you imagine it being voiced over the intro to some epic film?

    As far as being a Christian in the design field — totally agree, it’s very encouraging to stumble on God-inspired artwork on blogs, etc. It just usually seems to be the exception and not the rule, right? I’ve got a series in the work right now related to “the armor of God” (Eph. 6) I’m pretty excited about. Not sure how long it will take me, but stay tuned!

  3. Joseph Alessio / Nov 23 2010 9:20 pm

    Wonderful! Thanks for the comments/vote on my poster. I am hoping very hard that we get into the top 25, haha!

    It is indeed a very powerful verse, and the way you portrayed the message was excellent. When you’re ready with the Ephesians 6 project, send me an email. I would love to see it!

Leave a Reply

